Collections of non-English language videos are showcased here. Find an Italian blog, a set of films by the German director Lutz Mommartz, and a collection of French Canadian films created by amateur filmmakers. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Links to information on Spanish language and culture, including activities and resources to work on your Spanish listening skills. Includes links to Spanish-language news and entertainment sites such as NewsInSlowSpanish.com.
Links to information on German language and culture, including activities and resources to work on your German listening skills. Includes links to German-language newspapers, magazines, and literature and online streaming audio. Includes a link to Deutsche Welle, which contains audio news coverage and links to German language activities as well as the ability to listen to a slowed-down version of DW news.
Links to information on Italian language and culture, including activities and resources to work on your Italian listening skills. Includes links to audio anthology of Italian literature as well as a link to NewsInSlowItalian.com.
This site proposes an overview of works by female African authors writing in French and others closely associated with Sub-Saharan Africa. It provides an opportunity to find out more about the authors' life and interests and to get acquainted with their novels, short stories, plays and poetry.
Provides a guide to over 180 different alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems. It also contains details of many of the languages written with those writing systems and links to a wide range of language-related resources such as online dictionaries and online language courses.
Each individual sample page contains a sound control bar, a set of the answers to 7 demographic questions, a phonetic transcription of the sample,1 a set of the speaker's phonological generalizations, a link to a map showing the speaker's place of birth, and a link to the Ethnologue language database.
The archive also contains a set of native language phonetic inventories so that you can perform some contrastive analyses.