Skip to main content

Historiography: 3. Primary Sources on the Web

Recommended Online Collections

A selection of websites containing digitized documents:

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

Canada Year Book Historical Collection

Canada’s Digital Collections

Civil Right in Mississippi
The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive is an Internet-accessible, fully searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi.

Early Canadiana Online

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe

Google Special Collections
A directory of the web pages of national and international special collections libraries and archives.

History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents

History Matters
A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the W. K. Kellogg Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the Visible Knowledge Project.Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Indiana Affairs
Compiled and Edited by Charles J. Kappler

Internet Library of Early Journals
A joint project of the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford to digitize substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Making of America Collection (Cornell University)
A collection of approximately 1,600 full-text books and 50,000 journal articles from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 

Mazal Library
The MAZAL LIBRARY is a privately held and funded resource for historians, researchers, students and the general public. The library contains upwards of 20,000 books, microfilm rolls, pamphlets, and ephemera related to the Holocaust, anti-Semitism, racism and bigotry. A collection of over 70,000 "NO-" original documents used in the Nuremberg Trials forms part of the library. These documents will eventually be linked to the appropriate references in the text of the actual procedings.

National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government

National Security Archive
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

Online Primary Document Collections
This listing provides links to some of the best internet portals and collections of primary documents. Note that a collection may contain materials for more than one subject area and may offer secondary material as well as primary.

Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness.

UC Berkley Library
This site is a gateway to primary materials that are available online.

Here is a link to an ongoing list of Primary Sources

 

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000