Skip to main content

EndNote Basic

Directions on how to use and how to move your references from other programs like RefWorks.

Quick tips

The EBSCO databases and Web of Science are the easiest use with EndNote Online.

Import/Export

Most databases provide a way to export information that can be added to your EndNote Basic collection. Some are easier than others. Web of Science and the EBSCOhost databases are very easy to import.

In general, you are exporting information from a database which is then imported into EndNote Basic In a few cases, you can search from within EndNote Basic and import the information directly. For others you will have to save a file in RIS format and then import from within your Endnote Basic account.

EBSCO Exports

All of the EBSCO databases have a built-in export to EndNote.

Once you have found an interesting article, either:

  1. click on the Export button at the top of the record, or
  2. add to your Folder and then export from the Folder page, using the same Export button. By adding it to the Folder, you can export more than one article at once.

Be sure to choose the Direct Export to EndNote Web option on  the Export page. You will be asked to log into EndNote if you aren't already logged in. Your new citations go into the Unfiled folder by default.

It's that simple.

Download a file for Export

In some cases there is no export function in the database you are searching, or the export function doesn't work on your computer. In these cases, you can usually download a text file with the citation information in a format readable by EndNote Basic. To do this you will first export and download the text file, then import it into EndNote Basic.

When exporting, choose the format specifically for EndNote/EndNote Basic, if available, or an RIS format. It is usually most convenient to save the file someplace easy to find, like the Desktop.

To import

  1. In EndNote Basic go to Collect. Select Import References.
  2. Browse for your file. Select the appropriate filter from the list. The filters usually have the name of the database, such as JSTOR. If you do not choose the correct filter, you may get errors. If you do not see a filter with your database name, try the RefMan RIS filter. **
  3. Choose which group you want your new citations to go to.
  4. Click the Import button.

You should see a report above the boxes listing how many records were imported into which folder. If the number of records does not match the number you exported, view the new records to see if there were errors.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000