Skip to main content

Political Science Research

How do I find an article on my topic?

When you are searching for articles on a topic, try using the Library databases for high quality information. The Library subscribes to over 100 electronic databases. They contain many magazine, newspaper, and journal articles in full-text electronic databases. In addition, databases contain references and summaries (called 'abstracts') to other useful articles that may not be in electronic format. These articles may be available in print format in the Library, or they may be obtained via interlibrary loan.

Selected databases are listed on the 'Library Databases for Political Science' subpage, under the 'How to find articles' tab above.

Finding conference abstracts & proceedings

Quite often, you will find references to sources which are not journal articles or books. In particular, you may find references to conference or meeting abstracts. In this case, a scientist has presented his or her research at a conference or meeting and instead of publishing a journal article, the scientist has published a brief abstract summarizing his or her results in a professional society publication called a 'proceedings.' Sometimes these conference proceedings may be available online for free and sometimes they are only available in print. The following links will help you obtain them.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000