Skip to main content

Political Science Research

Background Sources

Why use them?

Reference works, like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, as well as online sources like the ones listed here, can be important sources of background or other information to assist you with research on your term papers.  If your interests are broad, this information may help you focus on a manageable research topic.  These sources may also suggest books or articles which contain more information on your chosen topics.

Recommended Online Sources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Recommended Sources from our Reference and Government Documents Collections

The Library has a large collection of encyclopedias, atlases, and other specialized reference books, in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor.  Also, we have a large collection of government publications in the US and Pennsylvania Government Documents Collections on the 2nd floor.  Reference books do not circulate. 

The following are a few examples:

American Conservatism  Ref JC573.2 .U6 A43 2006

American Presidential Campaigns & Elections  Ref JK1965 .A57 2003

Congressional Record  (available online)

Encyclopedia of Federal Agencies and Commission Ref JK9 .H536 2004

Encyclopedia of Government & Politics  Ref JA61 .E5 1991

Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party  Ref JK2312 .E55 1997

Europa World Year Book Ref JN1 .E85

Federal Register (available online)

Foreign Relations of the United States  Gov Docs S 1.1  (also available online here and here)

International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage  Ref JF851 .H28 2000

Pennsylvania Bulletin  PA Docs PGA 134.17/4  (also available online)

Pennsylvania Manual  PA Docs PGS 1.17/4  (also available online

Political Corruption in America  Ref JK2249 .G767 2003

Public Papers of the Presidents  Gov Docs AE 2.114 (also available online)

Robert's Rules of Order Ref JF515 .R65 2004

Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures, & Economies of the World  Ref JA51 .S7

United States Government Manual  Gov Docs AE 2.108/2:[yr.]  (also available online)

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000