Skip to main content

Psychology Research

Guide to books, databases, and web resources

RefWorks Guide

Log in to RefWorks if you have an account.

Do you need to set up a RefWorks Account?


What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows users to create personal databases of references and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported from many online databases and library catalogues into RefWorks. These personal databases can then be used to organize, store, and share the information. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers using the free Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word or create formatted bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

RefWorks is freely available to all Bloomsburg students, faculty and staff both on and off-campus.

 

Creating a RefWorks Account

  1. Go to the RefWorks login page: http://ezproxy.bloomu.edu/login?url=http://www.refworks.com/refworks
  2. You must be on an Bloomsburg University IP- authenticated computer (you must be on campus or have connected to Bloomsburg via your Huskies Account Log in or Library Barcode Number starting 22404 ---------).
  3. Click on the link “Sign up for an individual account.”
  4. Fill in the required fields and submit your information.
  5. Once your information is submitted, you will have access.
  6. You will receive an e-mail confirmation of your username and password. Please save this e-mail in case you forget your password! There will also be a group code in the e-mail which will allow you to access RefWorks on a non Bloomsburg authenticated computer.

Setting up your RefWorks database

You can set up multiple folders in your RefWorks account and each folder can have as many references as you want.

  1. Mouseover “Folders.”
  2. Click on “Create New Folder.”
  3. Enter a name for the folder.
  4. Click “OK.”

Putting References into your RefWorks Database

There are three methods of putting references into your database:

  1. Export references directly from a journal index (i.e., ProQuest, EBSCO)
  2. Import references from a text file created in a journal index or database.
  3. Enter references manually.

Generating a Bibliography

  1. Click on the “Bibliography” tab.
  2. Choose your desired output style (MLA, APA, etc.).
  3. Select “Format a Bibliography from a list of References.”
  4. Choose the “File Type to Create.”
  5. Select “All References” or “References from Folder” (choose the folder from the dropdown menu.
  6. Click on “Create Bibliography.”

 

Writing Papers with RefWorks

Write-N-Cite is a free downloadable MS Word utility that enables users to quickly insert references into Word documents and create bibliographies properly formatted in a specified style. Click here http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Refworks.htm#Using_Write-N-Cite_for_Windows_III.htm to download Write-N-Cite or login to RefWorks and select it from the RefWorks toolbar under Tools.

Getting Help with RefWorks

RefWorks Basic Online Tutorial: http://www.refworks.com/tutorial/

RefWorks Help: http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Refworks.htm#

For assistance, please contact the reference desk or email me for help. 

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000