Skip to main content

Psychology Research

Guide to books, databases, and web resources

Background Sources

Why use them?

Reference works, like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, as well as online sources like the ones listed here, can be important sources of background or other information to assist you with research on your term papers.  If your interests are broad, this information may help you focus on a manageable research topic.  These sources may also suggest books or articles which contain more information on your chosen topics.

Recommended Online Sources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Recommended Sources from our Reference Collection

The Library has a large collection of encyclopedias, atlases, and other specialized reference books, in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. Following are a few examples:

DSM-IV  Ref RC455.2 .C4 D54 1994

DSM-5 REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2013 (2nd copy in the General Collection, and available online)

Encyclopedia of Alzheimer's Disease  (available online)

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science  Ref BF311 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Counseling  Ref BF636.54 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Mental Health  Ref RC437 .K34 2008

Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties  Ref RC535 .D63 2001

Freud Encyclopedia  Ref BF173 .F6176 2002

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology  Ref BF31 .G35 1996

Handbook of Child Psychology  Ref BF721 .H242 1998

Magill's Encyclopedia of Pscyhology  Ref BF31 .M33 2003

Mental Measurements Yearbook  Ref BF176 .M46

Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology  Ref BF181 .H336 2002

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000