Major Databases for Anthropology
Try searching these databases first:
Indexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. Is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Provides indexing and full text access to 33 American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals, bulletins, and newsletters.
eHRAF World Cultures
Former name Ethnography Collection; contains sections of books, articles, and dissertations for various cultures or ethnic groups and organized by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF).
SocINDEX with Full Text
Journal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
All areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. 1965 - present.
Related Databases for Anthropology
Also try these interdisciplinary databases:
Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Articles on essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, covering both the history of the field and current controversies.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Full range of topics in linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.
A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
Sage Journals Online
Over 460 full-text journals in health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). Offers cited reference searching and Author Finder. Click
to view video tutorials.
Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more, for cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Other disciplines may also contain information on your topic. Use the link below to view lists of databases for other disciplines.
Find books, media, and more in library catalog
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | firstname.lastname@example.org
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000