Skip to main content

General Library Research Tutorial

Fundamental concepts and vocabulary used in library and information research.

B. Find Resources

Find Resources

 

 

Once you have established a research topic and done some background research, you are now ready to proceed with your search strategy to find sources for your research paper, speech, etc.  Keep in mind that research is not a linear process.  You may find yourself returning to databases, encyclopedias, etc. that you have already investigated.  What follows is a suggested guide for your research.

 

 

1. Search Primo to find books and media in Andruss Library. When you find a good book in Primo, check items with the same subject or browse through books nearby on the shelf to find additional books. If your book has a bibliography, it may lead you to additional useful sources. 

 

2.  Search Research Databases for useful journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on the topic. If the articles you find in the databases you use do not offer the full text of the articles, be sure to check Article Linker to determine if another database offers the full text of the articles.

 

3.  Search for U.S. Government publications in Primo, in research databases, or on the Internet.

 

4.  Locate biographical material, when appropriate.

 

5.  Locate statistical information, if needed.

 

6. Search the Internet for high quality web sites.

 

7. Evaluate all sources carefully, especially information you find on the Internet.



8. Cite sources in the style your professor recommends. 

 

 

 End of Module 8. Check your knowledge with a Self-Check Quiz.

 

 

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000