Using the Library
Curriculum Builder is a BOLT plugin for Search Everything @ BU, the Bloomsburg University Andruss Library's EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS). It provides course instructors with a way to create and manage course reading lists within BOLT and allows them to bring library databases, ebooks, streaming video, and other digital resources directly into the online learning environment for students to use.
For the most part, links to selected sources will be stable, especially to journal articles. The Library is committed to work with course instructors to maintain access to reading list resources. Please contact your liaison librarian with issues regarding access or for more information.
Module 1 - Orientation to Andruss Library
Module 2 - Introduction to Types of Information
Module 3 - Searching a Database
Module 4 - Understanding Citations
Module 5 - Using Internet Sources
Module 6 - Evaluating Sources of Information
Module 7 - Information Ethics: Citing Sources and Fair Use
Module 8 - A Search Strategy for Research Papers and Speeches
You can assign the GLRT and its Quiz as a prerequisite for your course to be completed by a certain due date, most likely before students begin an information research assignment. After the due date, you can request a list of students who passed the Quiz from your liaison librarian. You'll receive the names of students who passed the Quiz with a score of 70% or greater, but not their actual scores.
Students can take the Quiz twice (questions are randomized) to achieve a passing score of 70%. If they do NOT pass after two attempts, they must make an appointment with a Librarian to reschedule a 3rd attempt. We recommend that faculty use some kind of incentive to make sure their students complete the GLRT and the Quiz by their assigned due date.
To request books the Library does not own, please try E-ZBorrow first. E-ZBorrow is an unmediated system comprised of 50+ academic libraries in Pennsylvania and surrounding states that allows you to request your own books. You will need your HuskyID and network password to submit requests. Books may also be requested via ILLiad, but ILLiad requests are channeled through the ILL Office so they may take longer to arrive than E-ZBorrow requests. You will need your HuskyID and network password to submit requests via ILLiad.
To request articles the Library does not own, please use ILLiad. You will need your HuskyID and network password. Consult the Interlibrary Loan web page for more information, or contact Andrea Schwartz, Coordinator of Interlibrary Loan, 570-389-4218, firstname.lastname@example.org.
Faculty and students may also request electronic document delivery of print and microfilm journal articles owned by the library by using ILLiad, the library's interlibrary loan service. Copies of book chapters owned by the library may also be requested. You may fill out a form here, or use the library's link resolver within our databases or Google Scholar to fill out the form automatically. To use the link resolver, look for links labelled 'Check Availability' or 'Article Linker' in your search results. For more information, call the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery office at 570-389-4218.
By being aware of classroom assignments, librarians can better work to maintain the Library's print and electronic resources so they sufficiently meet instructional needs.
Recommendations for the purchase of books, videos, compact discs, or other materials for the Library are welcome. The availability of funds and the appropriateness of the material to our collections will determine whether it will be purchased. Use our online request form to recommend a Book for Purchase (under Services).
For additional information or assistance in requesting library materials, please contact your Departmental Library Liaison.
The Harvey Andruss Library maintains traditional course reserves for faculty to use in order to make required course materials available to students. Traditional reserves include such items as library-owned or personal copies of books, musical and visual recordings, old exams, etc. Traditional reserves are generally used in the library but can be copied for use off-site.
For more information on the Library's reserve & Fair Use policy, visit this page.
Remote access to the Library’s electronic journals and subscription databases from computers not connected to the University's network is available by using your ‘Lib #’ from an activated Bloomsburg University ID or by using the username and password you use to log onto oncampus computers. If you experience difficulty accessing the databases, call or email Linda Neyer, the Database Coordinator, (x4801, email@example.com). Please provide as much information as possible regarding any error messages to pinpoint the problem.
Expert faculty librarians can help you and your students with information research skills and questions. Librarians provide tailored information literacy instruction related to specific courses and assignments. Best practice is for subject faculty to collaborate with librarians in developing course-related assignments designed to develop students research skills. Information literacy sessions may be scheduled in AL 243, the Library classroom, or in other classrooms on campus depending on availability.*
Request an instruction session(s) by directly contacting your department liaison librarian or by completing the Request for Library Instruction form. Groups not assigned a librarian liaison may also use the form or contact Michael Coffta, Coordinator of Library Instruction, 570-389-4124.
Please allow a two week lead time for scheduling and preparation. Please note that there is a growing number of tutorials available on our Web page.
To learn more how the Library can work with you in the development of your students' information fluency, visit our Information Literacy page.
Research Aids for Faculty